Victorian ports

Victoria's commercial trading ports provide critical transfer points in the state’s transport network and connect Victoria to international markets.

Commercial ports

There are five Harbour Masters in Victoria. They regulate the manner in which vessels conduct their navigation in port.

  • Kell Dillon: Port of Melbourne
  • David Shennan: Port of Geelong
  • Andrew Hays: Port of Portland
  • Shane Vedamuttu: Port of Hastings
  • Bevis Haywood: Gippsland Ports

For further information about licensing Harbour Masters, please contact

Read Victorian Habour Masters Directions (HMDs)

Local port management

Port managers are responsible for the operation and maintenance of local ports, including:

  • Planning
  • Issuing permits and licences
  • Allocating moorings
  • Maintaining wharves, jetties and navigation aids
  • Dredging
  • Operating facilities such as slipways, and
  • Constructing new facilities.

Victoria's local ports

  • Gippsland Lakes
  • Corner Inlet and Port Albert
  • Snowy River
  • Mallacoota
  • Anderson Inlet
  • Port Phillip and Western Port
  • Port Fairy
  • Apollo Bay
  • Warrnambool
  • Port Campbell
  • Lorne
  • Barwon Heads
  • Portland Bay

You can find a full list of local port management bodies and their contact details on the Department of Transport website.

Was this page helpful?

Thank you, your feedback is valuable to us.