Waterway managers

Municipal councils

Waterway Manager


State Waters

Ararat Rural City Council

5355 0200 

Green Hill Lake

Ballarat City Council

5320 5500 

Lake Burrumbeet

Lake Learmonth

Lake Wendouree

Buloke Shire Council

5478 0100 

Wooroonook Lakes

Central Goldfields Shire Council

5461 0610 

Goldfields Reservoir

Lake Victoria (in Maryborough)

Colac Otway Shire Council

5232 9400 

Local Port of Apollo Bay

Corangamite Shire Council

5593 7100 

Lake Tooliorook

East Gippsland Shire Council

5153 9500

Bemm River within the Shire of East Gippsland

Gannawarra Shire Council

5450 9333 

Gunbower Creek

Kangaroo Lake

Lake Charm

Lake Meering ( also known as Meran)

Greater Bendigo City Council

5434 6000  

Lake Weeroona

Greater Shepparton City Council

5832 9700  

Kialla Lake

The waters of the International Village

Victoria Park Lake

Hindmarsh Shire Council

5391 4444  

Lake Hindmarsh

The Wimmera River within the Shire of Hindmarsh

Horsham Rural City Council

5382 9777  

Green Lake (near Horsham)

Lake Natimuk

Lake Toolondo

The Wimmera River within the boundaries of Horsham Rural City

Indigo Shire Council

5728 8000  

Lake Sambell

Latrobe City Council

1300 367 700  

Lake Narracan

Loddon Shire Council

5494 1200  

Loddon River within the Shire of Loddon

Loddon River-at Bridgewater

Little Lake Boort

Mildura Rural City Council

5018 8100

Lake Cullulleraine

Mornington Peninsula Shire Council

1300 850 600  

Balcombe Creek within the Shire of Mornington Peninsula

Moyne Shire Council

5568 0555  

Local Port of Port Fairy

Northern Grampians Shire Council

5358 8700  

Walkers Lake

Pyrenees Shire Council

5349 1100  

Beaufort Park Lake

Southern Grampians Shire Council

5573 0444  

Lake Hamilton

Strathbogie Shire Council

5795 0000  

The Goulburn River from Hughes Creek to Goulburn Weir including Lake Nagambie

Swan Hill Rural City Council

5036 2333  

Lake Boga

Warrnambool City Council

5559 4800  

The Hopkins River between the seaward outlet and Tooram Stones

The Merri River between the seaward outlet and the Bromfield Street Weir

Local Port of Warrnambool

West Wimmera Shire Council

5585 9900  

Lake Wallace

Whitehorse City Council

9262 6333  

Blackburn Lake

Government departments and authorities

Waterway Managers


State Waters

Barwon Region Water Corporation

1300 656 007 

  • Bolwarra Weir
  • Bostock Reservoir
  • Korweinguboora Reservoir
  • Railway Weir
  • She Oaks Weir
  • Upper Stony Creek Reservoir
  • West Barwon Reservoir
  • Wurdee Boluc Reservoir
Coliban Regional Water Corporation 1300 363 200
  • Barkers Creek Reservoir
  • Lauriston Reservoir
  • Malmsbury Reservoir
  • Upper Coliban Reservoir

Corangamite Catchment Management Authority

5232 9100  

The Barwon River between the Lower Breakwater and Orana Road

Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning

(formerly Department of Sustainability and Environment)

136 186  

  • Aire River downstream of the Great Ocean Road Bridge
  • All the waters within the Lake Albacutya National Park
  • All the waters within the Barmah State Park
  • The waters of the Barwon River upstream of the Local Port of Barwon Heads to the Lower Breakwater, including all the waters within the Lake Connewarre Wildlife Reserve and Reedy Lake
  • Bridgewater Lakes (Discovery Bay Coastal Park)
  • Browns Swamp
  • Lake Carpull
  • Lake Catani (within Mount Buffalo National Park)
  • Lake Cooper
  • Lake Costin
  • Lake Craven
  • Fitzroy River
  • Gellibrand River downstream of the bridge at Princetown
  • The waters of the Glenelg River within Victoria between the mouth and the junction with the Crawford River at Dartmouth
  • All the waters within Hattah-Kulkyne National Park
  • Heywood Lake
  • Lake Hordern
  • All the waters within the Kings Billabong Wildlife Reserve
  • Lake Lysterfield
  • Malseeds Lake
  • Lake Mombeong
  • Mueller Inlet with the Croajingolong National Park
  • Lake Powell
  • Lake Reeve
  • Lake Surprise (within Mount Eccles National Park)
  • Pretty Valley Dam
  • Rocky Valley Dam
  • Surrey River (upstream of the Princes Highway Bridge)
  • Swan Lake
  • Teddington Reservoir Number One (Upper Kara Kara State Park)
  • All the waters within the Wathe Wildlife Reserve
  • All the waters within the Wilsons Promontory National Park
  • Wingham Inlet within the Croajingolong National Park
  • All the waters within Wyperfeld National Park

Gippsland and Southern Rural Water Corporation

5139 3100  

  • Blue Rock Lake
  • Cowwarr Weir
  • Lake Glenmaggie
  • Melton Reservoir
  • Pykes Creek Reservoir

Goulburn-Murray Water

5833 5500  

  • Lake Banimboola (Dartmouth Pondage)
  • Lake Buffalo
  • Cairn Curran Reservoir
  • Lake Dartmouth
  • Lake Eildon and Eildon Pondage
  • Lake Eppalock
  • Greens Lake (near Corop)
  • Lake Hume
  • Laanecoorie Reservoir
  • Loch Garry
  • Middle and Reedy Lakes
  • Lake Nillahcootie
  • Waranga Basin
  • Lake William Hovell

Grampians Wimmera Mallee Water Corporation

5382 4611  

  • Lake Bellfield
  • Rocklands Reservoir
  • Taylors Lake
  • Lake Wartook
  • Moora Moora Reservoir

Parks Victoria

131 963  

  • Local Port of Port Campbell
  • Port Campbell Bay, as detailed in Plan LEGL./09-201
  • Maribyrnong River upstream of Shepherds Bridge on Footscray Road
  • Patterson River upstream of Nepean Highway Bridge to Eumemmering Creek
  • The Local Port of Port Phillip
  • The Waters of Western Port Bay
  • Yarra River upstream of port waters of the Port of Melbourne
  • Lake Moodemere
  • Albert Park lake
  • Waters – ex HMAS Canberra, as detailed in Plan LEGL./09-208

Director, Transport Safety

1800 223 022   transportsafety.vic.gov.au/msv

  • Bass Strait - Powlett River
  • Bass Strait - Anglesea -Point Roadknight
  • Bass Strait - South Barwon – Torquay
  • Bass Strait - South Gippsland - Cape Liptrap
  • Bass Strait - Urquarts Bluff
  • Bass Strait - Warrnambool - Lady Bay
  • Goulburn River upstream of the Goulburn Weir to the Eildon Pondage
  • Lake Bullen Merri
  • Lake Colac
  • Broken River within the boundaries of Benalla Rural City including Lake Benalla
  • Mitta Mitta River between the top water line of Lake Hume and the junction of the river with Callaghans Creek
  • St Georges Lake

Committees of management

Waterway Managers

State Waters

The Committee of Management of Allans Flat Recreation Reserve Inc.

Allans Flat Lake

Barwon Coast Committee of Management Inc.

Local Port of Barwon Heads

The Lake Bolac Foreshore Committee Inc.

Lake Bolac

The Lake Charlegrark Recreation Reserve Committee Inc.

Lake Charlegrark

Lake Lascalles and Corrong Committee of Management Inc.

  • Lake Corrong
  • Lake Lascalles

Curdies Inlet and Recreation Reserve Committee of Management.

Curdies River and Curdies Inlet between French's Bridge and the Great Ocean Road Bridge at Peterborough

Gippsland Ports Committee of Management Inc.

  • Local Port of Anderson Inlet
  • Local Port of Corner Inlet and Port Albert
  • Local Port of Gippsland Lakes
  • Local Port of Snowy River
  • Local Port of Mallacoota
  • Shallow Inlet
  • Lake Tyers
  • Sydenham Inlet from the seaward outlet and all navigable waters with an opening to that inlet, excluding Bemm River
  • Tamboon Inlet and all navigable waters with an opening to that inlet

Nhill Lake Reserve Committee of Management.

Nhill Lake

Lake Marma Public Park & Gardens Reserve Committee of Management

Lake Marma

The Lake Purrumbete Frontage Reserve Committee of Management Inc.

Lake Purrumbete

Tchum Lake Aquatic Club Incorporated

Tchum Lake South

Winton Wetlands Committee of Management.

Winton Wetlands


Waterway Managers


State Waters

AGL Hydro Partnership

5754 3220 

Junction Dam at Bogong, Clover Dam, Mount Beauty Regulating Pondage, Rubicon Dam, Royston Dam and Rubicon Falls Dam

Was this page helpful?

Thank you, your feedback is valuable to us.